Friday, February 10, 2006

Isn't Ray Haynes the Conservative Candidate in this race?

California Young Americans for Freedom PAC Endorses Michelle Steel for Board of Equalization

(Palos Verdes) - In yet another sign that Michelle Steel continues to consolidate the Republican base behind her candidacy, today the California Young Americans for Freedom PAC announced their endorsement of Michelle Steel for the open 3rd Board of Equalization District.

"Michelle Steel is exactly the type of leader we need in elected office," said CAL-YAF PAC Chairman Brandon Powers. "Her conservative fiscal principles combined with her private sector background make her the most qualified candidate to be the next member of the Board of Equalization."

Young Americans for Freedom (YAF) PAC, founded in 1960 at the estate of William F. Buckley, is the nation's oldest conservative youth organization.

"CAL-YAF PAC's endorsement is an early key conservative endorsement for any candidate," said Campaign Spokesman Mike Richman. "This endorsement is added to a growing list of organizations and individuals from around the district and state that are supporting Michelle, and are making her far and away the frontrunner in this race."

Michelle Steel's list of prominent endorsers in the 3rd BOE District includes:

Congressman Dana Rohrabacher
Congressman Ed Royce
Assemblyman Van Tran
Assemblyman Chuck DeVore
Assemblyman Tom Harman
Assemblyman Bob Huff
Assemblyman Jay LaSuer
Orange Co Sheriff Mike Carona
Orange Co D.A Tony Rackauckas
Orange County Supervisor Chris Norby
Orange County Supervisor Jim Silva
San Bernardino Co Supervisor Bill Postmus
San Bernardino Co Supervisor Gary Ovitt
San Diego County Supervisor Bill Horn
San Diego County Supervisor Ron Roberts
(partial list)

Michelle Steel is a member of several community and business based boards and commissions, including the Tax Advisory Committee for the State Board of Equalization. She has also served as a member of the California World Trade Commission, and in August of last year, Michelle was appointed by President George W. Bush to the Conference on Aging, her second presidential appointment.